Things Aren’t Normal


Gettysburg has been buried in snow for quite some time now. We received 2 different snows of 20+ inches in a matter of about 5 days. It has affected not only our homes and work, but our Bible studies and services. Two Sundays ago we only got to meet one time in the afternoon. And on that Wednesday we had to cancel again. Those of us who teach on Wednesdays lost a lesson this quarter. I’m in a lucky situation where I can use the pulpit to cover some of the material we would’ve covered in class. The other teachers are not so fortunate. We are hoping that the big snows are done for the year and we don’t have to change any more studies or worship services.

Some of the things that have been going on here…The past 2 Sundays I’ve preached from the book of Ecclesiastes. The first lesson was from chapter 7:19-29 entitled “Wisdom Gives Strength.” We looked at 5 things that wisdom gives us the strength to do 1) Admit/Confess sin 2) Forgive others 3) Say, “I don’t know” 4) Recognize and escape temptations 5) Give God His glory.
The second lesson came from chapter 4:9-12 entitled “Two are Better Than One.” We looked at 3 benefits of having spiritual companions 1) Lift-up one another 2) Keep one another warm (motivate) 3) Fight alongside with one another.
This past Saturday, I had the opportunity to go and participate in a Winter Camp that is put on by Gardner Hall in New Jersey. It was a great day. Five teenagers and one college student went with me and they benefited tremendously from it as did I. Over the entire weekend they studied the books of Zephaniah, Haggai and Malachi. But since we were only able to go on Saturday and had to leave before too late we only studied Haggai. A book some of the kids had never studied the book before. Needless to say, they learned a lot.
Also on Saturday, Scott gave a lecture at the Gettysburg library refuting evolution. The turnout was not exactly what he had wanted or expected, but he did have 4 visitors from the community. So we were thankful for that, and he is hopeful for some follow-up with at least one of the visitors. But we’ll see how that goes. Just pray for this endeavor especially since he is planning to do this several more times at another library.
Some of you have asked me about our sermons being online…well, at the moment there are only a few on the website, but I’ve been asked to help do some work on the website. So Lord willing soon, I will be posting more sermons and articles online. We are going to try to use the website for a better teaching tool.
I hope everyone is well.
God bless,
Wes

4 Comments to “Things Aren’t Normal”

  1. That is so cool about the library! Which one did he go to?Thanks for the update! It's encouraging!

  2. Ya I really wanted to go, but duty calls. Hopefully I can make it to the next one he has.I think you'll def have a better turnout if the weather isn't awful again.

  3. Would love to be able to hear the Eccl sermons. Hopefully the web site will have the sermons posted soon…and do something about that cartoon of the building!!! 😉

  4. Alyssa–He went to the Gettysburg library, and the next few will be at your beloved Bieglerville libraryScottie–You've got to do what you've got to do.Parker–You've seen the way I draw right?! But I'll try to get those sermons up when I have access to the software.

Leave a comment